How to watch the Europa League final for free

The Europa League final is here. After almost nine months of competition and hundreds of matches, Man Utd will take on Villarreal in a one-off tie in Gdańsk, Poland.

The Red Devils are strong favourites to win their first trophy in four years, and first under manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. However, having finished second in the, the extra incentive ofqualification for next season doesn’t apply. The same cannot be said of opponents Villarreal, who finished seventh in La Liga.

Here’s how you can watch all the action for free, wherever you are in the world.

When is the Europa League final?

The 2021 Europa League final takes place on Wednesday 26 May in Gdańsk’s Stadion Energa. Kick-off is 9pm local time, or 8pm in the UK. Here’s how that translates around the world.

  • 12pm PDT
  • 3pm EDT
  • 8pm BST
  • 9pm CEST

Head to the UEFA website to see a full guide to the.

How to watch the Europa League final free in the UK

BT Sport has exclusive rights to the Europa League in the UK, so you usually need an active subscription in order to start watching.

However, the broadcaster is making both the Europa League final available for free via the official. We’ve embedded the stream at the top of this page. Full coverage of the event begins at 6.30pm UK time, and will be live streamed for viewers at a resolution of up to 4K.

If you’d still like to subscribe (perhaps in preparation for next season), check out all the deals on , including if you just want If you want access to , you can easily do so by updating your viewing card. Prices currently start at £10 per month with £29.99 upfront. 

BT Sport is also now offering a, which gives you unlimited access to all the channels for £25 a month. This is contract-free, so you can dip in and out at any time. 

How to watch the Europa League final for free from abroad

BT Sport is usually geo-restricted, which means you can only officially stream the final if you’re based in the UK.

However, before using the following method, we’d encourage you to find out if the official broadcaster in your country is making similar arrangements. That’s CBS/Univision in the US, Optus Sport in Australia or Sony Pictures Networks in the Indian subcontinent.

If you still need to pay to access the local coverage, we’d recommend accessing the BT Sport stream using a VPN. This will allow you to still appear as if you’re in the UK and retain access to channels, and it’s completely legal. 

 is one of our top recommendations, but you can check out our , which shows you some of the best services for accessing UK content from abroad.

If you’re only planning on using the VPN for the football, you might also want to consider a. Nearly all will have a UK server, but there may be strict data limits. 

While you’re here, you might also be interested in how to watch the,and.